Until Death Do Us Part - Jonas

Khamis, Mei 28, 2009

#477. Cannes Film Festival 2009: who's in line for the Palme d’Or and the winners

Which films are in competition for the Palme d'Or at this year's Cannes Film Festival?

1. A l’origine (by Xavier Giannoli)
Italian director reunites with Gerard Depardieu, star of Cannes -anointed The Singer (2006)

2. Antichrist (by Lars von Trier)
An apt title for a film the Danish director who delights in provoking and wrong-footing audiences here working with Willem Dafoe and Charlotte Gainsbourg

3. Bright Star (by Jane Campion)
Director of Palme d’Or-winning The Piano returns with romance about love affair between John Keats and Fanny Brawne.

4. Fish Tank (by Andrea Arnold)
Eagerly-awaited follow-up to British director’s gripping surveillance thriller Red Road.

5. Inglourious Basterds (by Quentin Tarantino)
Brad Pit and Samuel L. Jackston star in this heady thrill-a-thon about Jewish-American soldiers hellbent on mutilating Nazis in occupied France.

6. Kinatai (by Brillante Mendoza)
The Filipino director is not well known in the UK yet, but broad-minded cinephiles will be eager to see his follow to last year’s terrific Serbis.

7. Looking for Eric (by Ken Loach)
Long-time Bath FC fan hooks up with philosophically-inclined Gallic kung-fu master

8. Les Herbes folles (by Alain Resnais)
A new departure for the seminal New Wave auteur who is nearly 90: he makes a film based on a literary novel – based on the rules of flying

9. Los Abrazos Rotos (by Pedro Almodovar)
The flamboyant Spaniard, a long-time Cannes favourite, reworks classic American noir in this heady romance starring Penelope Cruz

10. Map of the Sound of Tokyo (by Isabel Coixet)
The well-regarded Spanish director creates a mood-symphony to the Japanese city that features a motley cast of impresarios, hit women and sound engineers.

11. Un prophète (by Jacques Audiard)
This Corsican gang thriller by the director of the well-received The Beat That My Heart Skipped could be a surprise winner.

12. Soudain le vide (by Gaspar Noe)
Strippers, maiming, Tokyo: shock-meister Noe is back with another round of nightmare cinema.

13. Spring Fever (by Lou Ye)
Return of Chinese director banned from making movies by the Chinese government after his last film Summer Palace screened at Cannes without permission.

14. Taking Woodstock (by Ang Lee)
Chameleonic Lee, a master chronicler of time and place, evokes the heady spirit of late-60s America

15. Thirst (by Park Chan-Wook)
A failed medical experiment turns a clergyman into a vampire: the South Korean king of visceral thrills is back!

16. The Time That Remains (by Elia Suleiman)
Divine Intervention won him the Jury Prize in 2002; here Suleiman draws on his own biography for this wide-reaching tale following a Palestinian family from 1948 to the present.

17. Vengeance (by Johnnie To)
The Hong Kong thriller director – this time of a drama starring Johnny Hallyday as French assassin turned chef – is inexplicably popular with the Cannes selection committee.

18. Vincere (by Marco Bellocchio)
Historical drama from Italy about the relationship between Benito Mussolini and his first wife.

19. Visages (by Tsai Ming-Liang)
The Taiwanese director, beloved by international festivals, pays homage to the Nouvelle Vague in this complex story set in the Louvre’s royal apartments

20. The White Ribbon (by Michael Haneke)
Jury President Isabelle Huppert, who starred in the Austrian moralist’s The Piano Teacher, may look kindly on his characteristically forensic study of fascism and education.

Here is a list of the main winners from the Cannes Film festival together with short descriptions of the winning films.

1. Palme D’Or
“The White Ribbon” directed by Austrian Michael Haneke. A small village is rocked by a series of mysterious and cruel crimes. A group of young children are among the prime suspects.

2. Grand Prix (runner up)

- “A Prophet” directed by France’s Jacques Audiard. Malik is sentenced to six years in prison, and must use every ounce of his ingenuity to survive the dangerous rivalry between gangs.

3. Special career prize
- Veteran French director Alain Resnais. This year he presented “Wild Grass”. When Georges finds a stranger’s wallet by his car, he goes in search of the mysterious and alluring Marguerite.

4. Best actor
- Austrian Christoph Waltz for his role as a Nazi officer in Quentin Tarantino’s World War Two caper “Inglourious Basterds”, in which a group of American-Jewish soldiers gets mixed up in a plot to kill the leaders of the Third Reich, including Hitler.

5. Best actress
- Charlotte Gainsbourg for “Antichrist” directed by Denmark’s Lars Von Trier. She and Willem Dafoe play a couple whose son dies in an accident. Events spiral out of control when they go to an isolated cabin to try to recover.

6. Best director
- “Kinatay” directed by Filipino Brillante Mendoza. Peping, a criminology student, joins his friend on a mission to earn some cash but regrets his decision as events turn sour.

7.Best screenplay
- Mei Feng for his script on “Spring Fever” directed by China’s Lou Ye. A woman hires a man to spy on a passionate homosexual relationship her husband is involved in.

8.Jury prize (shared)

- “Fish Tank” directed by Britain’s Andrea Arnold. Mia, 15, sees her world turned upside down when her mother brings home a new boyfriend.

- “Thirst” directed by South Korean Park Chan-Wook - A priest becomes a vampire during a medical experiment and is seduced by a bored housewife bent on murder.

9.Camera D’Or (for debut film)
- “Samson and Delilah” directed by Australia’s Warwick Thornton. A romance between two teenagers that looks at the often desperate conditions faced by Australia’s Aboriginal communities.

10. Best short film
- “Arena” directed by Portuguese director Joao Salaviza.

Catat Ulasan

Layar Reader

Layar Komuniti II

Empunya Diri

Foto saya
Nature Luver, Movie Buff, Bookworm, Photogeek, Bread Krazy,

Layar Frenz I

Layar Subscribe

Add to Google Reader or Homepage

Subscribe in NewsGator Online

Add to My AOL

Subscribe in Bloglines

Layar Frenz II

Layar Community

  ©Layar 2009 Template by Our Blogger Templates

Back to TOP